Our Solar System

This is our Solar System; formed about 4.6 billion year ago, it contains comets, planets, moons, etc. Our Solar System has 8 planets, in order from the closest to the Sun they are: Mercury, venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune.

Planet name Distance from the Sun in miles Year Length Day Length Moons
Mercury 36 million 88 Earth days 59 Earth days 0
Venus 67 million 225 Earth days 243 Earth days 0
Earth 93 million 365 days 24 hours 1
Mars 142 million 697 Earth days 24 hours, 37 min. 2
Jupiter 484 million 12 Earth years 10 Earth hours 16
Saturn 888 million 29 Earth years 11 Earth hours 18
Uranus 1.78 billion 84 Earth years 17 Earth days 17
Neptune 2.8 billion 164 Earth years 16 Earth hours 16

How big are the planets?

As shown in the picutre above the smallest planet is Mercury, which is also the closest to the Sun. Jupiter on the other hand is a huge compared to the rest.


The Center

right in the center of the solar system is the Sun, and all the planets are orbiting around it. Its a massive star, but compared to the rest of the universe. However it's big enough to fit about 1,000,000 Earths inside the Sun. Its roughly 92.96 million years old.